The first female mayors

collection highlight The first female mayors

Truus Smulders-Beliën (above) is the first female mayor in The Netherlands. She was appointed in West-, Oost- and Middelbeers in 1946, and remained in office until her death in June 1966.

In the Fall of 1964 the number of female mayors increased to three, when Christina Maria s’Jacob-des Bouvrie (in Leersum) and Mia van der Wall-Duyvendak (in Geldermalsen) were appointed by the Crown. The ‘charter’ shown was presented to s’Jacob-des Bouvrie in honour of her appointment.


Related articles